Topics

2011 Skywarn Recognition Day

Corey
 



73  Corey / KC0YNS


Begin forwarded message:

From: Jim Kramper <James.Kramper@...>
Date: November 21, 2011 9:01:49 AM CST
To: 'Bill Coby' <bcoby@...>, 'Bill DeCoursey' <ka0rgi@...>, 'Charlie Peters' <cpeters@...>, 'Cory Mesenbrink' <kc0yns@...>, 'Craig Bennett' <craig@...>, 'Dale  Huffington' <ae0s@...>, 'Dallas Dalton' <wd9ivd@...>, 'Danny Richardson' <n0rjy@...>, 'Danny Richardson' <dannyarichardson@...>, 'Dave Kampmorr' <n0yws@...>, 'Dave Larsen' <k0si@...>, 'David Fuller' <drfuller@...>, 'Derek Stewart' <hurrican79@...>, 'Ed Kimble' <edwardjkimble@...>, 'Edwin Karl' <edk0kl@...>, 'Harold Mathis' <kd9sg@...>, ins76@..., 'Janet Singleton' <katybr90@...>, jcbiggerstaff@..., 'Jeff Young' <kb3hf@...>, 'Jeri Zerr' <JeriZerr@...>, 'Jim  Miller' <jimmiller@...>, 'Jim Berg' <jim.berg@...>, 'Jim Corvey' <jimcorvey@...>, 'Joe Betros' <jyb1@...>, 'Joy Lemmons' <lemonfrjoy@...>, 'k0emt' <k0emt@...>, 'Keith Wilson' <k0zh@...>, 'Kevin Brown' <kc0czi@...>, 'Kurt Bleich' <ema3301@...>, 'LLoyd Collins' <lloydc@...>, 'Luke Oswalt' <ka0cwu@...>, mbien007@..., 'Mel' <mel@...>, "'Merle D. Foster'" <kb0kwc@...>, 'Michael Daniels' <mdaniels@...>, "'Mike Grady (nomln@...)'" <n0mln@...>, 'Mike Moore' <wd0efp@...>, 'Richard Lionberger' <lionberger@...>, 'Richard Spector' <w0rjs@...>, 'Rob Robinson' <robretired@...>, 'Rodney Zerr' <rzerr@...>, 'Roger H Volk' <k0gob@...>, 'Ron Ochu' <ronochu@...>, 'Roni Rodgers' <rrodgers1559@...>, 'Roy Nelson' <ka0umj@...>, 'Steve Morse' <KB0OXU@...>, 'Steve Morse' <stevem@...>, 'Steve Wooten' <kc0qmu@...>, 'Wayland McKenzie' <k4chs@...>, 'Wayne Ault' <wayne.ault@...>, 'William Grimsbo' <william.a.grimsbo@...>, 'William Grimsbo' <william.a.grimsbo@...>, 'Aaron Shipley' <ashipley@...>, 'Barb Ruby' <barbnwalt@...>, 'Bill Hasty' <mocoema2@...>, 'Bill Ogle' <willnoap@...>, 'Chris Pixton' <ccpixton@...>, 'Cindy Dawson' <teddydawson2000@...>, 'Cody Mass' <ke5ehz@...>, 'Coram Davis' <k9ci@...>, 'Curtis Williams' <faxplus@...>, 'Dale Wentz' <dale@...>, 'Darlene Ewers' <doriluv@...>, 'Dave Miller' <davecoramiller@...>, 'Eugene Kramer' <Generadio@...>, 'Freddie Hornsey' <fredhornsey@...>, 'Herschel Hall' <r2owner@...>, 'Jim McDermott' <mcdermot.james@...>, 'Jim Pitchford' <james@...>, 'Jim Pitchford ' <ema@...>, 'John King' <w9kxq@...>, 'John Nell' <jdnell@...>, 'John Simon' <jsimon@...>, 'Kevin Henke' <N9UCR@...>, 'Les Schaefer' <les@...>, 'Lou Cassady' <aa9rt@...>, 'Marty Schultz' <martysc@...>, 'Mike  Funk' <mfunk2@...>, 'Norm Champion' <norm@...>, 'Skip Riba' <ws9v@...>, 'Todd West' <kb9ail@...>
Cc: 'CeCe Rogney' <w0cmr@...>, 'Cliff Rozar' <clfrzr@...>, 'Craig Klimczak' <k4lsu@...>, 'Don Meyer' <kd0jbn@...>, 'Gary Timm' <gary.timm@...>, 'Harry Ferris' <skywarn@...>, 'Harry Steger' <hjsteger@...>, 'Jobst Vandrey' <jvandrey@...>, 'Joe Wozniak' <genicdecay@...>, John Mountain <kj0mtn@...>
Subject: 2011 Skywarn Recognition Day

2011 SKYWARNTM Recognition Day (SRD)

December 3, 2011, from 0000z to 2400z

SKYWARNTM Recognition Day was developed in 1999 by the National Weather Service and the American Radio Relay League. It celebrates the contributions that volunteer SKYWARNTM radio operators make to the National Weather Service. During the day SKYWARNTM operators visit NWS offices and contact other radio operators across the world.

 

For more information visit the official website: http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mtr/hamradio/

 

For local information on operations at NWS St. Louis, visit this site: http://www.w0sjs.com/wx0stl/

 

The hours of operation at the NWS St. Louis will be Friday from 1500 - 2200 hrs and Saturday from 0900 - 1400 hrs. 

 

Amateur volunteers will operate from the NWS office on SSB and CW modes on 15, 20, and 40 meters. They will also operate on the 2 meter frequencies that are used for Skywarn operation. Those are 145.330, 145.190, 147.330 pl 123.0, and the Missouri Intertie.

 

Intertie Frequencies:

 

Jefferson City: 443.175 (pl=77.0)
Columbia: 444.425 (pl=77.0)
Centralia: 443.025 (pl=77.0)
High Hill: 444.025 (pl=77.0)
Foristell:444.475 (pl=77.0)
St. Louis: 443.475 (pl=77.0)

 

At this time, it is believed the Intertie is not working from Columbia to the St. Louis Area, thus it is likely we will not be able to take traffic from Central Missouri via this system.

 

Intertie Frequencies in Illinois:

 

Gillespie: 444.250 (pl103.5)
Gillespie: 145.290 (pl123.0)
Greenville: 147.165 (pl 103.5)

 

All amateurs are encouraged to participate in this fun event and make contact with the NWS St. Louis.

 

Jim Kramper

Warning Coordination Meteorologist

National Weather Service

12 Missouri Research Park Drive

St. Charles, MO 63304

http://weather.gov/stlouis

636-447-1876 Office (unlisted)

636-441-5821 Media Line (24 hours)

636-441-8467 Public